top of page

Opinion Piece: The Two Cheltenham Players that proved me wrong.

Updated: Jan 21, 2021

An unusual trait among some, but an absolute truth for myself. I love getting proved wrong. Whether it be scepticism over a person or a lack of confidence about a match, being proved wrong is a great feeling. From my background in coaching and supporting football there are hundreds of people and many games at which my opinion will be put to the test. So who at Cheltenham was I originally not sure on but have proved me very wrong?


Oh Captain my Captain.


I was in a year twelve law lesson, scrolling through twitter (I wasn’t very good at law) when I saw the tweet from Cheltenham Town announcing the signing of midfielder Ben Tozer on a free from Newport, after rejecting a contract extension with the Welsh club. I hadn’t heard of him. Naturally, I asked my teacher at the time, who called Newport home, she hadn’t heard of him.

Tozer had made 62 League 2 appearances in two seasons at County, a total now beaten in his time at Cheltenham, having previously played once in the Championship for Newcastle in 2009/10 and in League 2 for all but one season since.


Tozer’s first game came with a 1-0 home defeat to Crawley, followed by a 1-0 away defeat to Tranmere. It wasn’t until a 3-1 win at Northampton on the 8th of September, 6 games into the season, that the now Captain got his first win. To put the blame on Tozer for this is completely unfair, it was a poor season for the club who saw Gary Johnson sacked after a 1-1 draw with Macclesfield in August. It wasn’t a time where all fans were too confident. Who could forget when Tozer was put upfront when we had actual strikers on the bench?

Tozer’s reawakening came with the appointment of club legend Michael Duff as manager. He was moved from midfield to centre back and hasn’t looked back since. This change was accompanied by eventual safety in League 2 followed by play off heartbreak the following season. No one can ignore the monumental rise of the team and Tozer played a huge part as the club’s captain, being named in the PFA League 2 team of the season and being, in my opinion, one of the best centre backs in the league. With the club looking better and better and the potential for Tozer to lead the robins to automatic promotion this season, I couldn’t be happier that I have been proved wrong and by how well Tozer has done. Not bad for someone my Law teacher had never heard of.

Butter Flinders


Jon Flatt’s return to Whaddon Road didn’t go well. Another tough start to the campaign for Cheltenham, looking to consolidate their place in League 2 after survival the previous season, saw Flatt become the first casualty of the season. Making just four appearances in his second spell, fans and coaches alike were not filled with confidence by the now Rushall Olympic shot stopper. Something had to be done.

The answer was the signing of former Crystal Palace keeper Scott Flinders who was without a club having been released by National League Macclesfield. In all honesty I wasn’t sure what to expect, he hadn’t come in with a good reputation and the nickname didn’t fill us with confidence. A shaky start came with a 1-0 defeat away to Stevenage and three clean sheets in his first ten games, in which Cheltenham picked up 15 points. Don’t get me wrong, Flinders did very well and was instrumental in our turnaround of form and picking up results home and away.


While Tozer took a bit longer, Flinders became a hero in my eyes after his performance in the home game against Lincoln City. In a game decided by a first half Danny Wright strike on paper, my man of the match was the shot stopper. He pulled off save after save and was unbeatable in the Cheltenham net, Lincoln had nine shots, four on target, and Flinders went unbeaten.

Duff’s men conceded just 27 in 19/20, even if it was ended prematurely, it was the lowest in England’s professional leagues.


A devastating double leg break saw Flinders’ 19/20 season cut short, and his missing presence was clear in my eyes, especially in the play off second leg. His return has been reassuring and he looks like he’ll kick off in the same vein of form as before his injury. Flinders is writing himself into Cheltenham’s history books and is on his way to cementing legendary status at the club.

And there you have it, two future Legends who are playing their way into the hearts of the Cheltenham Town faithful and will hopefully be lifting the League Two title at the end of the season.


112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page